Calendar of Events  2016-2017
Please Scroll down to the current date.

July 4 Johnson Parade
walk and hand out U.S. Flags
Date: Monday, July 4 Carpool from Pro Mall on Bishop Boulevard
Meet at 9:00 a.m. -- Depart at 9:15
Place: 9 miles South of Pullman
5th Congressional district Voter Forum
Date: Wed. July 13 7:00 - 9:00 p.m.
Place: Pullman City Hall
State Representative 9th district Voter Forum
Date: Wed. July 15 7:00 - 9:00 p.m.
Place: Whitman County Library, Colfax
2016/17 Planning Meeting
Salad Potluck
Date: Monday, July 18 10:00 a.m. - 1:00 p.m.
Place: Mary Collins Home
Board Meeting
League has a Board of the Whole so anyone is welcome to attend
Date: Tuesday August 23,
1:00 - 2:30 p.m.
Place: Daily Grind back room, Main St.
Back-to-League Meeting
Potluck
Date: Monday, September 12, 6:00 - 9:00 p.m.
Place: Ginger and Dean Glawe's Home
Brown Bag Meeting
Date: Thursday, September 15, 12:00 noon to 1:00
Program: WSU Chief of Police Bill Gardner
Place: Community Congregational Church (525 Campus St.)
Board Meeting
League has a Board of the Whole so anyone is welcome to attend
Date: Tuesday September 20,
1:00 - 2:30 p.m.
Place: Daily Grind back room, Main St.
National Voter Registration day
Volunteer to help with the registration table at WSU
Date: Tuesday September 27,
time 9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
send email to Deborah Olson Place: WSU Compton Union Building
CANCELED -- CANCELED
Election Forum -- 4 Washington Initiatives
Date: October 19, 7:00 - 9:00 p.m.
Place: Umpqua Bank, 225 N. Grand Ave., Pullman
Brown Bag Meeting
Date: Thursday, October 20, 12:00 noon to 1:00
Program: Whitman County Commissioners
Place: Community Congregational Church (525 Campus St.)
Election Forum -- Mary Dye and Jennifer Goulet
candidates for 9th District Washington State representative
I-732 and one other WA initiative will also be included
Date: October 20, 7:00 - 9:00 p.m.
Place: City Hall, Pullman
Board Meeting
League has a Board of the Whole so anyone is welcome to attend
Date: Tuesday October 25,
1:00 - 2:30 p.m.
Place: Daily Grind back room, Main St.
League Meeting -- Food Security for Whitman County
Public Meeting - Everyone is welcome to attend
Date: Monday, November 7,
6:30 - 9:00 p.m.
Social half hour with snacks at 6:30
Place: Umpqua Bank, 225 N. Grand Ave., Pullman
Brown Bag Meeting
The public is welcome to attend
Date: Thursday, November 17, 12:00 noon to 1:00
Program: To be determined
Place: Community Congregational Church (525 Campus St.)
Board Meeting
League has a Board of the Whole so anyone is welcome to attend
Date: Tuesday November 29,
1:00 - 2:30 p.m.
Place: Daily Grind back room, Main St.
League Meeting -- Civics Education for the public
Public Meeting - Everyone is welcome to attend
Date: Monday, December 5,
7:00 - 9:00 p.m.
Social half hour with holiday cookie exchange at 6:30
Place: Umpqua Bank, 225 N. Grand Ave., Pullman
Brown Bag Meeting
The public is welcome to attend
Date: Thursday, December 15, 12:00 noon to 1:00
Program: Brad Jackel from the WSU Organic Farm and Deb Pherson from Tukey Orchard
Place: Community Congregational Church (525 Campus St.)
League Meeting -- State and Local Planning
Date: Monday, January 9,
7:00 - 9:00 p.m.
Social half hour with snacks at 6:30
Place: Libby Walker's Home, 840 SE Lori Court
Book Club
Notorious RBG by Irin Carmon & Shana Knizhnik
Date: Friday January 13 1:00-2:30 p.m.
Place: Susan and Paul’s home, 1745 SW Baldwin Dr. Pullman
Board Meeting
League has a Board of the Whole so anyone is welcome to attend
Date: Tuesday January 17,
1:00 - 2:30 p.m.
Place: Daily Grind back room, Main St.
Brown Bag Meeting
The public is welcome to attend
Date: Thursday, January 19, 12:00 noon to 1:00
Program: To be determined
Place: Community Congregational Church (525 Campus St.)
League Meeting -- Citizens Climate Lobby
Bertie Weddell, Judy Meuth and Ginny Lohr of the CCL Palouse
Public Meeting - Everyone is welcome to attend
Date: Monday, February 6,
7:00 - 9:00 p.m.
Social half hour with snacks at 6:30
Place: Umpqua Bank, 225 N. Grand Ave., Pullman
Brown Bag Meeting -- Planning and funding for our parks
The public is welcome to attend
Date: Thursday, February 16, 12:00 noon to 1:00
Program: Audra Sims, Superintendent for WA St. Parks SE District
Place: Community Congregational Church (525 Campus St.)
Board Meeting
League has a Board of the Whole so anyone is welcome to attend
Date: Tuesday February 28,
1:00 - 2:30 p.m.
Place: Daily Grind back room, Main St.
League Meeting -- MODERN DAY DEBTOR’S PRISONS
WSU Global Scholars* will discuss economic discrimination in the criminal justice system.
Public Meeting - Everyone is welcome to attend
Date: Monday, March 6,
7:00 - 9:00 p.m.
Social half hour with snacks at 6:30
Place: Umpqua Bank, 225 N. Grand Ave., Pullman
Meeting of Interest
Gary Jenkins, Pullman Police Chief -- Uber taxies and Pullman
Public Meeting - Everyone is welcome to attend
Date: Monday, March 13,
Starts at 5:30 p.m.
Place: Pullman City Hall, Council Chamber
Pi(e) Day
Celebrate Pi (3.14) and Pie
Date: Tuesday, March 14, 1:00 noon to 2:30
Place: Home of Anne Lewis, 915 SE Skylark Ct.
Brown Bag Meeting --
The public is welcome to attend
Date: Thursday, March 16, 12:00 noon to 1:00
Program: Troy Henderson Whitman Co. Director of Public Health
Place: Community Congregational Church (525 Campus St.)
Board Meeting
League has a Board of the Whole so anyone is welcome to attend
Date: Tuesday March 28,
1:00 - 2:30 p.m.
Place: Daily Grind back room, Main St.
League Meeting -- Housing and Eldercare
Public Meeting - Everyone is welcome to attend
Date: Monday, April 3,
7:00 - 9:00 p.m.
Social half hour with snacks at 6:30
Place: Umpqua Bank, 225 N. Grand Ave., Pullman
Brown Bag Meeting
The public is welcome to attend
Date: Thursday, April 20, 12:00 noon to 1:00
Program: Francis Benjamin on "Pullman 2040", a process to engage community members to develop a vision and strategies for Pullman's future.
Place: Community Congregational Church (525 Campus St.)
Board Meeting
League has a Board of the Whole so anyone is welcome to attend
Date: Tuesday April 25,
1:00 - 2:30 p.m.
Place: Daily Grind back room, Main St.
League Meeting -- Annual Members meeting
Date: Monday, May 8,
6:00 - 9:00 p.m.
Catered Dinner at 6, followed by business meeting at 7
Place: Private Home -- Contact: Mary Collins, 509-592-6929
Brown Bag Meeting
The public is welcome to attend
Date: Thursday, May 18, 12:00 noon to 1:00
Program: To be determined
Place: Community Congregational Church (525 Campus St.)
Board Meeting
League has a Board of the Whole so anyone is welcome to attend
Date: Tuesday May 23,
10:00 - 11:30 a.m.
Place: Daily Grind back room, Main St.
Board Meeting
League has a Board of the Whole so anyone is welcome to attend
Date: Tuesday June 27, 10:00 - 11:30 a.m.
Place: Daily Grind back room, Main St.
4th of July Parade
Anyone is welcome to attend
Date: Tuesday July 4, 10:00 a.m.
9:15 a.m. carpool from Pro Mall
Place: The town of Johnson
Primary Voter Forum
Date: Wednesday, July 12, 6:30 - 8:30 p.m.
Place: Umpqua Bank
Annual Planning Meeting + Potluck
Salad Potluck
Program: Setting the year's programs
Anyone is welcome to attend
Date: Monday July 24,
10:00 a.m.- 1:00 p.m.
Location: Home of Mary Collins; 1104 Collins Rd
Lentil Festival Non-Profit Table
Date: Friday August 18, Evening
Place: Near Reany Park
Book Club
Anyone is welcome to attend
Book: Just Mercy by Bryan Stevenson
Date: Monday August 28, 1:00 - 2:30
Place: TBD